DATE OF ADOPTION: December 9, 1999

REVISION DATE(S): March 25, 2010,  October 24, 2019, December 12, 2019  





Seminole State College empowers people for academic success, personal development, and lifelong learning.




The values of Compassion, Opportunity, Respect and Excellence will be considered in all actions of Seminole State College.




The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education have authorized SSC to provide the following types of learning experiences and services to meet its mission:


  1. General education and other university-parallel coursework.
  2. One and two-year programs of collegiate-level technical-occupational education to prepare individuals to enter the workforce.
  3. Programs of remedial and developmental education.
  4. Formal and informal programs of study especially designed to serve community needs for continuing education.
  5. Programs of institutional research to improve the college's efficiency and effectiveness.
  6. Special support and activity programs which assist and enrich students' educational experience.
  7. Programs of economic development, in conjunction with area colleges and universities which serve the needs of our service area.




Seminole State College is fully accredited by:





Seminole State College, established in 1931 as Seminole Junior College, is located in the east central portion of the state in Seminole, Oklahoma, a designated All-American City with a population of approximately 7,500.


Originally organized as an extension of the local high school, classes were held at Seminole High School and taught by high school faculty until 1969.  In that year, the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education recommended the development of a state-supported junior college which would be separate from the local high school.


Responding to the challenge, Seminole citizens worked with state and local leaders to develop Seminole Junior College. Dr. Elmer Tanner was employed as the college’s first president, and classes were offered at the First Presbyterian Church in Seminole.


The community continued its support for the new college by approving a $250,000 bond issue, by an 8 to 1 margin, for construction of a college administration and classroom building and by donating forty acres for a new campus.  In March 1971, the citizens of Seminole approved a one-cent sales tax to help support the college until 1975, when SJC became a fully state-supported institution.  At the time, Seminole was the only community in the state of Oklahoma to ever impose a sales tax on itself for the support of a college.


In the spring of 1996, the Seminole Junior College Board of Regents passed a resolution requesting that the Oklahoma legislature and the Governor change the name of the institution to better reflect its institutional mission.  The Oklahoma legislature and Governor Frank Keating approved the change of name to Seminole State College in May, 1996.


In addition to Dr. Tanner, the college has been led by three other presidents.  Gregory Fitch served from 1982 to 1987, and Dr. Jim Cook served from 1987 to 1996.  In January of 1997, Dr. James W. Utterback became chief executive officer of Seminole State College.