SSC Board of Regents Awards Emeritus Status to Former VP

The Seminole State College Board of Regents approved two bids for construction projects on campus, approved entering a contract for fleet management and awarded emeritus status to former Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Linda Goeller at their meeting on March 28.

During her report to the Board, President Lana Reynolds discussed campus events and personnel changes.

With the first item of business, the Board deliberated on a proposal from Dave Haynie LLC for the renovation of a classroom in the Haney Center. This renovation will establish a simulation nursing lab and is made possible through a federal Congressionally-directed appropriation awarded to the College in support of its nursing program. The Board approved the bid for the amount of $199,850.

The second item on the agenda pertained to the review of a bid for an additional construction project on campus. The College administration recommended a $53,323 bid from Affinity Corp. to develop a secure parking area dedicated to the College’s motor pool.

Then the Board approved a contract with Enterprise FM Trust for fleet management, addressing the institution’s transportation needs. Enterprise will help the College liquidate its aging vehicle fleet and purchase new vehicles. Through the agreement the College will be able to replace vehicles approximately every five years. The contract includes roadside assistance and all new vehicles will be under warranty reducing SSC’s maintenance costs.

Concluding the meeting’s action items, the Board awarded emeritus status to former Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Linda Goeller.

“Dr. Goeller’s tenure, marked by her significant contributions as a faculty member, Division Chair, and administrator, made such a positive impact on our institution. We appreciate the Board awarding emeritus status to this deserving past employee,” President Reynolds said.

Dr. Goeller worked at SSC for 12 years. Prior to serving as Vice President for Academic Affairs, she was a Professor of Mathematics, the Assessment Coordinator and chaired the STEM Division.

She earned her Ph.D. in Professional Studies/Mathematics Education from Oklahoma State University, her M.Ed. in Mathematics Education from Northeastern State University, and her B.S. in Accounting from Oklahoma State University.

For three years, she served on the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Council on Instruction. On the Oklahoma Council of Teachers of Mathematics Board, she represents community colleges. She served on a number of committees on the SSC campus, including the Mathematics Division Degree Program Evaluation committee, Student Success Committee, and she chaired the Assessment of Student Learning Committee from 2014-2021.

She also received the Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty Award at the 2019 American Association of Community Colleges annual convention in Orlando, Florida. The award is given to outstanding instructors who demonstrate a passion for classroom learning, show a willingness to support students both inside and outside of the classroom, and go above and beyond what is required to ensure the academic success of their students.

Board members present at the meeting were: Chair Kim Hyden, Marci Donaho, Curtis Morgan, Ryan Pitts and Robyn Ready. The next meeting of the SSC Board of Regents is scheduled for Thursday, May 16, 2024.