SSC Honor Society Inducts New Members

Fifty Seminole State College students were inducted into the Alpha Theta Nu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for Two-Year Colleges at the Jeff Johnston Fine Arts Center on March 13. 

Students are selected based on their scholarship, leadership and commitment to community. The chapter provides programs, organizes activities and encourages participation in community service projects.

Requirements for membership in the honor society include: enrollment at an accredited two-year college with a Phi Theta Kappa chapter and an overall GPA of 3.5 with a minimum of 12 credit hours completed.

SSC Regent Kim Hyden served as the event’s guest speaker. Regent Hyden is a co-owner and president of Gary A. Crain, Inc. in Prague, a business founded in 1986 that specializes in highway and bridge contractor services. She was appointed in 2017 to serve on the SSC Board of Regents, a position she will hold for seven years.

Assistant Professor of Business Jeff Cheng and Assistant Professor of Social Sciences Sam Rivera, who serve as the chapter’s current advisers, were also present at the induction.

SSC students inducted at the ceremony (arranged by hometown) were:

Bearden: Lauren Wegner

Bowlegs: Amanda Lewis

Chandler: Megan Lusk

Choctaw: Breana Murphy

Claremore: Bianca Coleman

Dale: Corbin Snyder, Madaline Watts and Mariah Carter

Edmond: Aubrey Adams

Gainesville, TX: Yelena Martinez

Holdenville: Randee Taylor, Jenna Dockrey, Dawson Taylor and Hope Armstrong

Moore: Eric Hutchison

Okemah: Valerie Degge, Mary Lesley and Kaelenn Griffin

Oklahoma City: Gabrielle Pace and Moriah Pace

Sasakwa: Trena Bartlett and Caleb Garcia

Seminole: Raymos Estrada, Brittney Yeubanks, Austin Chesser, Cade Daley and Melissa Marchant

Shawnee: Tierney Collins, Aysha Bui, Madison Streater, Grace Warren, Kylie Stewart, David Holmes, Manjie Tan, Rhonna Morris, Garrett Hopkins and Dixie Anderson

Tecumseh: Kimberly Cotter, Annie Boatman, Autumn Bowie, Yolanda Turner, Kendra Arrasmith, Taylor Burnside, Grayson Scoggins and Desiree Davis

Wetumka: Mya Ward, Nathan Weeks and Isaac Bellinger

Wynnewood: Jayden Smith

Yukon: Kaylee Rayburn