All-Black Towns of Oklahoma Exhibit Opens at SSC

Seminole State College is hosting the Thirteen All-Black Towns of Oklahoma traveling exhibit in the lobby of the Enoch Kelly Haney Center throughout the month of June.

The exhibit, curated by the Oklahoma Historical Society, explores the history of All-Black towns that are still incorporated today. The towns highlighted in the exhibit are Boley, Brooksville, Clearview, Grayson, Langston, Lima, Red Bird, Rentiesville, Taft, Tatums, Tullahassee, Summit and Vernon.

Between the late 1800s and early 1900s, around 50 All-Black towns were established in Oklahoma. These towns were founded by African American settlers who pooled their resources to purchase land and create self-sustaining communities.

The founders of these towns aimed to create spaces where African Americans could live free from racial discrimination, establish businesses, own property and govern themselves. These towns became hubs for entrepreneurship, education and culture.

The exhibit is sponsored by the SSC Educational Foundation and is being held in commemoration of the Juneteenth holiday. Seminole State College’s summer hours are Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission is free and open to the public.