SSC Honor Society Inducts New Members

Twelve Seminole State College students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for Two-Year Colleges on March 22.

Students were selected based on their scholarship, leadership and commitment to the community. The chapter facilitates leadership and scholarship opportunities for its members and organizes campus and community service activities.

Requirements for membership in the honor society include: enrollment at an accredited two-year college with a Phi Theta Kappa chapter and an overall GPA of 3.5 or higher, with a minimum of 12 credit hours completed.

SSC Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Amanda Estey served as the ceremony’s keynote speaker. Dr. Estey is an alumna of Phi Theta Kappa and spoke of the organization’s role in her academic and professional journey.

Current student officers Emillia Gates, Abby Ridley, Scotlyn Green, Loralei Grills, Hannah Ridley, Rya’Lynn Simons and Emily Carpenter spoke of the history and mission of Phi Theta Kappa, and formally inducted the newest members, alongside advisors Dr. Andrew Davis, Associate Professor of Language Arts and Humanities, and Edith Cathey, Director of Financial Assistance.

SSC students inducted at the ceremony were: Wylder Dawn Coleman, of Holdenville;

Kaylee Edwards, of Bridgecreek; Brasen Hackler of Kiowa; Avery Lowe of Ardmore; Taryn Naas of Shawnee; Bethaney Noble of Amarillo, TX; Macy Marianne Proffer of Shawnee; Olivia Stevenson of Shawnee; Kaitlyn Grace Tate of Murfreesboro, Tennessee; Zarai Velazquez of Holdenville; Hailey Wallace of Wellston; and Brent White of Shawnee.